navigate @ newsstand
latest news & archive
articles & interviews
magazine rack
rewind 2001 2000
tv schedule

articles & interviews

The 2000 'VH1/Vogue Fashion Awards' Welcomes Salma Hayek...

NEW YORK, Sept. 27 /PRNewswire/ -- Salma Hayek, Dylan McDermott, Halle Berry, Kate Hudson, Uma Thurman, John Leguizano, Jennifer Connelly, Laurence Fishburne, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Donatella Versace, Ellen DeGeneres, Greg Kinnear, John Galliano, Renee Zellweger, Tom Ford, Lenny Kravitz, Lisa "Left Eye" Lopez, Oscar de la Hoya have joined the lineup of celebrity presenters for the 2000 "VH1/Vogue Fashion Awards" -- A Night of Killer Music and Fashion -- to be presented live on VH1 from the Theater at Madison Square Garden in New York City on Friday, October 20 at 9:00-11:00 p.m. (ET/PT).

Academy Award-winning actor Cuba Gooding, Jr. and supermodel Gisele Bundchen will host the sixth annual awards special.

Cameron Diaz, Nicole Kidman, Chloe Sevigny, Penelope Cruz, George Clooney, Russell Crowe, Samuel L. Jackson, Toni Braxton, Macy Gray, Faith Hill, Beck, Enrique Iglesias, Jon Bon Jovi, Janet Jackson, Sting, Carmen Kass, Angela Lindvall are among the top nominees for awards in ten categories covering style, fashion, design and music video artistry. Awards range from "Celebrity Style," "Most Fashionable Artist" and "Most Stylish Band," to "Model of the Year," "Visionary Video" and "Designer of the Year."

The annual "VH1/Vogue Fashion Awards" is renowned for its unprecedented mixture of designers, models, rock stars and show business luminaries whose combination creates an unsurpassed night of fashion, music and entertainment.

The nominees for the "VH1/Vogue Fashion Awards" were determined by the VH1/Vogue 2000 Fashion Awards Style Council, an exclusive committee of top fashion editors, journalists, curators, stylists, designers, photographers and models assembled by VH1 and Vogue. The winners for the category of "Designer of the Year" "Most Stylish Video" and "Visionary Video" were selected online by visitors to the and websites.

The sponsors of the 2000 "VH1/Vogue Fashion Awards" are BMW, Maybelline, Tommy Hilfiger, Chrysler, Vidal Sassoon, Victoria's Secret, Nutrisse.

The executive producer of the 2000 "VH1/Vogue Fashion Awards" is Lauren Zalaznick, VH1's Senior Vice President of Programming; producer, Jay Karas; executive in charge of production, Todd Schwartz; creative director, Candy Pratts Price.

VH1 produces and programs a wide variety of music-based series, specials, live events and acquisition-based programming that keep viewers in touch with the music they love. VH1 is a registered trademark of MTV Networks, a unit of Viacom Inc. MTV Networks owns and operates the cable television programming services MTV: Music Television, MTV 2: Music Television, Nickelodeon/Nick at Nite, TV Land and VH1 as well as The Suite from MTV Networks, a package of ten digital services, all of which are trademarks of MTV Networks. MTV Networks also has joint ventures, licensing agreements and syndication deals whereby its programming can be seen worldwide.

Contact: Tracy McGraw of VH1, 212-846-7879, or Vanessa Reyes of MTV Networks, 310-752-8081